Wednesday, May 24, 2006


The last symphony No. 6 was premiered nine days before the pathetic death of the composer. It’s often called Tchaikovsky’s suicide note because of the sad aspects of the music.

Finale, after the brilliant second and third movements, returns to the darkness of the first. Without ever quickening, after the shivering sound of the tam-tam, the movement meanders off into a quiet end, leaving a feeling of despair and sadness.

The best performance of the symphony and especially the finale is definitely by the New York Philharmonic under the amazing baton of Leonard Bernstein.

Listen to a small part of this performance:

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Symphony No. 6 B Minor Opus 74 ‘Pathetic’
4. Finale, Adagio lamentoso – Andante
4:14 Min 1.79 Mb

Sunday, May 21, 2006

Karajan in Rehearsal

For those who love the extraordinary conductor Herbert von Karajan, listening to his voice in a rehearsal session with the phenomenal Berlin Philharmonic would be amazing, although in German:

W.A. Mozart (1756-1791)
Symphony No. 39 E-flat K.543
Second Movement Andante con Moto

Tuesday, May 16, 2006

Niccolo Paganini

The first string (E) was torn right in the middle of the main part of the concert that night. Niccolo pretended to be disappointed for seconds. But when he continued playing on 3 strings and the second string (A) was torn minutes later too, everybody at the concert could understand what was going on!

It was written in the papers on the morrow, “In the concert last night, the young violinist Niccolo Paganini played the theme and the first variation on four strings, the second variation on three strings, the third on two strings, and the last variations on one last G string. Only those who could play without any strings may compete with Paganini!”

It was said Devil assisted this nineteenth century violinist from Italy. It’s also said the laughter of Devil could be heard in his thirteenth caprice of the 24 caprices opus one. You listen to the caprice, and decide.

N. Paganini, Caprice No. 13 44 Sec 653 Kb
From 24 Caprices Opus 1
Violin Salvatore Accardo
Free counter and web stats